Go to Library Homepage
Decrease text size Increase text size Reset text size  
 
My Library Hours            
Tuesday: 2:00 to 4:30 PM
Wednesday: 6:00 to 8:00 PM
Thursday: 2:00 to 4:30 PM
Friday: 3:30 to 8:30 PM
Saturday: 9:30 to 11:30 AM
Library Calendar of Events
Book Club
Fourth Wednesday of every month.
 



Now you can access online research databases in the library, from home or anywhere you access the Internet.
Note: You may need to enter your library card number.


 Use InfoTrac eCollections to search by subject. Click on your subject and only the relevant databases will be
 searched!



Detailed Database Descriptions

Ancestry Online
Genealogy research tool gives access to over 1 billion names, 3000 databases and primary resources. Covers Canada, the US, UK, and some European countries. English and French content.

Audience: High school and beyond.
Access: Use in Library Only
Canada in Context
Designed for students needing help with homework, writing reports, and school projects, based on curriculum standards in all major subject areas : History, Science, Literature, Geography, Cultures, and more.

Audience: Middle and high school students and educators.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Featuring essays published specifically for Canadian Points of View.

Audience: High school and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Career Cruising
Fully bilingual database designed to help students and others plan their future. Users are able to access hundreds of detailed occupation profiles - everything from Actuary to Zookeeper. Features a job search tool, resume builder, skills assessment tools, Career Matchmaker, portfolio development options, and more!

Audience: Middle School and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library
Chilton Library (Automotive Repair)
Represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available. Includes thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

Audience: High School and beyond.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
CPI.Q - (Canadian Periodicals)
Use this database to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus. CPI.Q also had an extensive collection of Ontario newspapers.

Audience: High School and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, en-gineering, communications and the application of technology.

Audience: High School and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Consumer Health Complete/Multilingual Health
Designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. Provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Try MultiLingual Health for health information in French & other languages.

Audience: General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Discovering Collection
Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, timelines and multimedia elements combine into this comprehensive online reference resource.

Audience: Junior High School and beyond.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Educators 200
Covers the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs as well as background information on child health and development.

Audience: Educators, tutors, coaches.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search over 100 electronic reference books individually or as a group. Titles include subject specific encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs.

Audience: High School and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

Audience: High School and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
General OneFile
A gigantic collection of millions of articles. Great for research papers and projects. Includes articles from business, technology, current events, economics, education, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, and more.

Audience: High School and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
General Reference Centre Gold
Integrates a variety of sources, including newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Audience: High School and beyond. General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Grzimek's Animal Life
An image-rich, dynamic online resource featuring more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Reptiles and Birds, Fish, Insects, Mammals and Simple Aquatic Life, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more.

Audience: K-12.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
InfoTrac Junior Edition
Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with ebooks, this periodical database provides information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Audience: Junior high and middle school students.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for secondary school students, InfoTrac® Student Edition is the quick and easy way to do classroom assignments and get answers to general reference questions.

Audience: Designed for secondary school students.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Kids InfoBits
Developed especially for budding researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Features developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, and subject-based topic tree.

Audience: Kindergarten through Grade 5
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
LegalTrac
Full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals that offers law students, faculty and legal researchers the publications they need for their research and practicum.

Audience: Students, law school faculty and legal researchers.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Literature Resource Center - LRC
Find information on authors and their works, from all time periods and from around the world. This resource supports coursework and research in English, World Literatures, Film, Theater and across the Humanities.

Audience: High school and beyond.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Military & Intelligence Database
Subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more. Additionally, the product includes the Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and the World Almanac and Book of Facts.

Audience: Military personnel
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Newsstand (InfoTrac)
Get the scoop with an innovative Web-based newspaper database that lets you electronically search articles by title, headline, date, author, section and more. Choose from more than 1200 outstanding newspapers from around the world.

Audience: General interest research.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Novelist
Find your next read, fiction and nonfiction, by author, title, subject, genre.

Audience: General interest.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Novelist K-8
Find your next read for kids. Fiction and nonfiction reading suggestions for children.

Audience: K-8.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
Our Ontario
Find digital images, text, audio and videos about Ontario history, heritage and culture. Search the collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, heritage and community groups, government agencies, and private collections in Ontario and across Canada via a single search portal. English and French content.

Audience: High school and beyond.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library
Overdrive AudioBook Digital Library
Download digital Audiobooks anytime and then transfer to your portable device! Browse the library and add audiobooks to your cart. When you're ready, you can check out your items using the simple online process.
Please Note: You will need to enter your library card number and PIN.

Audience: High school and beyond.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library | Sign in with Library Card
PebbleGo
Designed specifically for K-3, the award-winning PebbleGo Animals database from Capstone Digital Publishers offers information on hundreds of animals! Now includes PebbleGo Earth and Space, too!.

Audience: K-3.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library
Teen Health and Wellness
Self-help for teens and young adults on topics including diseases and conditions; drugs and alcohol; nutrition and fitness; mental and emotional health; sexuality and sexual health; bullying; internet safety; green living; family life, and more.

Audience: Middle and high school students, parents and educators.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library



The support of the Government of Ontario through the Ministry of Tourism and Culture is gratefully acknowledged.
Athens Public Library
5 Central Street • P.O. Box 309 • Athens, ON • K0E 1B0
Phone: 613.924.2048 | Email: athenspl@bellnet.ca
Copyright © 2009- Athens Public Library
Site maintained by Triple Oak Leaf Computer Services and Publishing